3 Quotes – Khaled Hosseini


khaled_hosseini

 

Khaled Hosseini, American novelist, physician

born:
March 4, 1965 in Kabul Afghanistan

known for:
The Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, And The Mountains Echoed

web site:  http://www.khaledhosseini.com/

 

Whatever the readers feel when they’re reading my books, I feel it tenfold when I’m writing it.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
All stories I write are compulsive. Anything I’ve ever written was because I don’t have a choice. I write stories because I can’t wait to tell it, I can’t wait to see how it ends.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
For me as a writer, the story has always taken precedence over everything else. I have never sat down to write with broad, sweeping ideas in mind, and certainly never with a specific agenda.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Khaled Hosseini?  🙂


17 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Khaled Hosseini

  1. Pingback: Writing Links…3/13/17 – Where Genres Collide

  2. The second quote resonates the most with me even though not all stories I’ve written were compulsive (writing short stories means I don’t always follow a single compulsion; sometimes I just write because an idea is mildly interesting…or because there is a theme to follow, such as when I wrote stories for my SF groups anthologies that we sell to raise money for Doctors Without Borders), but the most compulsive of my stories are the ones that resonate the most with readers, as I found out with reviews and fan letters. 🙂

    • This is a great choice, Teresa.
      It is interesting that our readers can always distinguish how/why we wrote something – even if they could not always explain why a story meant more to them than another one.
      I am glad that you receive not only reviews. Fan letters are something else! 🙂

  3. Here’s mine. “For me as a writer, the story has always taken precedence over everything else. I have never sat down to write with broad, sweeping ideas in mind, and certainly never with a specific agenda.” He described my method totally.

Leave a reply :-)

