The Gift: Betrayal (The Gift Legacy, Awakening Redux (“#20”)) by J.P. McLean


The author sent me an ARC of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Vengeance for the Forsaken …

What would you do if your wife left you for your worst enemy, and then proceeded to empty your bank account? When Jackson Delaney learns that his wife betrayed him for his half-brother, nothing less than revenge will quench the fire in his soul.

But first he has to find them.

Jackson joins forces with an unlikely partner—his wife’s brother. They put aside their warring motives, and dive headlong into a search that will test their characters and break the laws of two worlds. And when Jackson meets Emelynn Taylor, a mysterious young woman with no knowledge of her arcane and powerful gift, he recklessly lures her into his vengeful mission.

But nothing is what it seems, and from a single deception grows a web of strangling lies.

Betrayal careens on a high-speed chase, from the gentile character of New Orleans to the rugged beauty of the North American west coast.

Genre(s): Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Thrillers & Suspense > Supernatural > Ghosts
Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Suspense > Paranormal
Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Paranormal & Urban
Series: The Gift Legacy, Awakening Redux (“#20”)
Length: 321 pages
Release date: 2016-11-15

Teaser


She clamped her mouth shut, and took a moment. When she spoke, her voice was tight, controlled. “Your behaviour sickens me.”

Her words hit like shrapnel. “I could say the same. Have you no loyalty to me, to my father?”

“What your father did to Cole was disgraceful. And you … I can’t even look at you right now.” She turned and stormed from the salon, leaving my ears ringing in her wake.


My Opinion

This book reunites the readers with Jackson Delaney – and how he met Emelynn Taylor.

With The Gift: Betrayal, J. P. McLean has once again created a thrilling combination of mystery, paranormal, urban fantasy, and a touch of romance with steamy situations. She expertly shows us Jackson Delaney’s point of view; understandably different from Emelynn’s take on the situations in The Gift: Awakening. It is a compelling read centred on Jackson, drawing you closer to him. J. P. McLean paints a clear picture of the main characters’ mindsets while the story evolves. In this Awakening Redux story, I was drawn into the story once again, getting to understand why Jackson did what he did, even if I still do not consent to all of his actions. The characters are of sufficient depth, believable with their flaws and virtues. The story is a very nicely woven combination of several genres, has a wonderful flow; it was easy to get hooked. I had a great time reading The Gift: Betrayal.

This is a book for you if you like mysteries or paranormal romance with a very urban touch and believable characters, some strewn in steamy situations, and some violent events.

The stunning Awakening Redux book in The Gift Legacy series!

Highly recommended!

In brief:

Cover ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Writing ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Plot ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Characters ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady
POV First person – past tense
Language :mrgreen:
Violence 😳 – 😡
Sexual content 😳 – 😡

 

About the author

I’m very fortunate to live in a writer’s paradise on one of the small northern Gulf Islands off the eastern shore of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. The rugged beaches and towering fir and arbutus trees that surround me often end up in my stories. When I’m not pouring my imagination into my computer, I’m futzing in gardens, making a mess of the kitchen or romping with my Wheaten-cross, Molly. I write stories that entice you to believe the impossible and escape the everyday for a while. Enjoy the read!

Connect with the author:


Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Gift: Betrayal?  Or – if you did not yet read The Gift: Betrayal – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂


Book review – The Gift: Awakening by J. P. McLean

Book review – The Gift: Revelation by J. P. McLean

Book review – The Gift: Redemption by J. P. McLean

Book review – The Gift: Penance by J. P. McLean

10 Statements – J. P. McLean

 

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “The Gift: Betrayal (The Gift Legacy, Awakening Redux (“#20”)) by J.P. McLean

  1. Hi Karen, how wonderful to read more about the latest book from Jo-Anne! I’m wishing her much success with this one and just added it to my TBR list ~ paranormal awesomeness by the sounds of it! Great review 🙂

  2. Pingback: Reading Links 4/4/17 – Where Genres Collide

  3. “The Train of Thoughts…” I loved reading it. I have read ALL J.P.McLeans books because I got hooked when I read the first one I came across, because of kayaking… It was not the first book “Awakening” and “Betrayal” reminded me very much of it. Just that Jackson is now the main character. My thoughts in general? J.P. McLean is an especially gifted writer and she surely found her niche. Her characters are so ‘alive’ and surely unforgettable. Even the unrealistic things they do feel ‘real.’ I am ready to believe that they can fly (maybe we all can?) I look forward to the next one!

    • I couldn’t agree more, Giselle. Jo-Anne crafted unforgettable characters. Jackson imagined Emery to be like Father Walton (before meeting him); when I read about Emery – I see a younger Artie (Warehouse 13).

  4. Pingback: My Train of Thoughts Reviews The Gift: Betrayal | The Gift Legacy

  5. Thank you, Karen. When I see my books getting close to the top of your “to read” titles, I always get anxious. I’m so glad you enjoyed Betrayal. It was fun to write from a different character’s perspective for a change.

    • Thank you for writing all these great books, Jo-Anne.
      It was great to read the story from a different angle. It was definitely hard work to get it done and – you did an awesome job. 🙂

Leave a reply :-)

