10 Statements – Beaufield Berry-Fisher


Beaufield Berry-Fisher is a playwright, blogger, journalist, novelist and theater enthusiast. Inspired by empathy, true stories, history, burlesque and rebellion Beaufield’s work strives to connect on a human level and always questions the status quo. Her work has been produced across the country and she’s a veteran of the Philadelphia Spark Fest, Great Plains Theater Conference, KC New Works festival and the William Inge Festival. Beaufield was a recipient of the 2017 IAF from the Nebraska Arts Council. Beau often writes for American Theater Magazine, collecting stories across the Midwest’s growing theater scene and her début novel, Childhood Friends, was published in January with ABO.

Find me…

Website & Blog:  http://www.beaufieldberryfisher.com/
Publisher:  http://agribellaorbis.com/
Twitter:  @BeautifulBeau84
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/BeaufieldBerryFisher

 

My personal motto:

“Take it easy, but take it.”

 

10 statements
  1. A typical (work) day begins with… lots of procrastination, a toddler hug and then COFFEE.
  2. I lose track of time ugh, either perusing Facebook, which is my worst habit or watching Real Housewives…which isn’t that great either.
  3. I have always… an excuse to drink wine.
  4. I have never… let ‘no’ be the final answer where it really counts.
  5. Home means to me… a place I can take pants off and wear questionable hairstyles and I’m not obligated to do anything.
  6. I am inspired by… truth-tellers, radical empathy and knowing when to say F off. Both in the real world and in the story world (and really they’re the same thing) When I can feel someone is being raw and authentic, stripped down to their core, I respond to that. I search that out in people and experiences and I think I’m good at telling the difference. Too often we put on façades or keep our walls up high in self-defense. I am inspired by those who tear those down.
  7. I would like to meet… OPRAH. Is that cliché? Because she’s it for me.
  8. My worst character trait… I can be a bit on my high-horse…but I don’t mind the view from up here.
  9. My best character trait… I love making people feel comfortable around me and I am exceedingly loyal…until crossed!
  10. The best advice I was given… the best advice we were ALL given, I feel comes from Maya Angelou…when someone shows you who they are, believe them. I think this bodes well for making the best decisions in life–learning to walk away from a bad deal, a bad relationship, a bad friendship. And followed by the simple and timeless; Stay Humble. I always lead with confidence, I let people know that I can’t be walked all over. But I always remember to stay gracious to those who share their time with you, to always be grateful and to always keep striving for your personal best. I think that encompasses the heart of humility and it’s very important as a writer to have that. Because one day you’re up…the next day, who knows?

Childhood Friends

When 30-something Jorah lands back in her hometown of Omaha, it’s raining outside. Her hoarder mother has redecorated her childhood bedroom like it’s 1998, she’s avoiding her best friend’s calls and living with a secret.

Driven by the need to reconcile her past life with her current one, Jorah reconnects with her friends from childhood. Shepherd, a movie-ticketer-turned-felon and Stassi, a frenemy with ulterior motives and a smile. Through their interactions, Jorah learns some things never change and others are irrevocably torn. Sometimes the only thing friends have in common is shared history.

Packed with wild prose, stunning visuals, and surprising twists, Childhood Friends is an incredible look into the power of friendships, the call of humility, and how the journey of life always leads back home.

Print length:  272 pages

Published:  2017-02-13

Buy link:  books2read.com/u/4N1nzz

Paperback:  https://www.amazon.com/Childhood-Friends-Beaufield-Berry/dp/0998596205/

 

Save

Leave a reply :-)

