2017-04-11: Song of the day


Bon Jovi – Hallelujah


Lyrics:  Leonard Cohen
Now I’ve heard there was a secret chord
That David played, and it pleased the Lord
But you don’t really care for music, do you?
It goes like this
The fourth, the fifth
The minor fall, the major lift
The baffled king composing Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Your faith was strong but you needed proof
You saw her bathing on the roof
Her beauty and the moonlight overthrew you
She tied you to a kitchen chair
She broke your throne, and she cut your hair
And from your lips she drew the Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

You say I took the name in vain
I don’t even know the name
But if I did—well, really—what’s it to you?
There’s a blaze of light in every word
It doesn’t matter which you heard
The holy or the broken Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

I did my best, it wasn’t much
I couldn’t feel, so I tried to touch
I’ve told the truth, I didn’t come to fool you
And even though it all went wrong
I’ll stand before the Lord of Song
With nothing on my tongue but Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah, Hallelujah
Hallelujah, Hallelujah

Hallelujah

 

On the way between the hotel and the stadium, three explosions damaged BVB Dortmund’s team bus. One of the core team players was injured and had to be taken to hospital. The match AS Monaco – BVB Dortmund has been cancelled. WHY attack a soccer team?

Peace, dear friends and readers.  ☘

 

28 thoughts on “2017-04-11: Song of the day

  1. Pingback: 2017-04-11: Song of the day — My train of thoughts on… – Site Title

    • Some people apparently crave for power, money, fame – instead of kindness. This is a real pity, Teresa.
      This is a wonderful song with many incredible versions; I have to admit that Leonard’s version is not among my favourites.

  2. One of my favorite songs of all time. I also like the Rufus Wainright version. I swear Freddie Mercury also sang it once, but I don’t know if he ever recorded it. I’d love to get my hands on a version if he did.

  3. Karen, this is one of my all time favs. Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    Oh my…such tragic news of another attack. A cruel reality that is impossible to comprehend. So very sad.

    • My pleasure, Natalie. 🙂
      It was a very unexpected event. A soccer player suffered severe hand injuries, and a policeman was also injured. 😦

  4. What a song, I love this one. Even though it’s kinda sad it brings back sweet memories! Sad news about the attack. Thoughts are on Germany tonight xx

  5. Another beautiful version of the most beautiful song. But your postscript at the end was so sad, maybe made sharper in juxtaposition to the song. I hadn’t heard about this attack.

Leave a reply :-)

