Skunks Dance by St John Karp


The author sent me an ARC of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Spivey Spillane’s grandmammy always said there were only two good reasons to kill a man — for cheating on a woman, and for serving drinks to a Yankee. She may have had a hand in winning the Revolutionary War, but even she never met the likes of Alabama Sam. Sam robs a bank under Spillane’s name, casts him in an obscene one-man play wearing only a pink tutu, and starts a betting pool on how many wieners he has. Despite the indignities Spillane suffers, he chases Sam across Gold-Rush-era California because Sam is the only one who knows the location of a hidden fortune buried somewhere in the hills.

Meanwhile in the present, seventeen-year-olds Amanda and Jet have rekindled an old childhood rivalry. Amanda is obsessed with finding the treasure of her infamous ancestor Spivey Spillane. Jet and Amanda’s feud comes to a head over an extended incident involving a broken window, an exploded car, and a charge of sexual assault with a candy Batman. Jet vows that he is going to find to Spillane’s gold before Amanda does, but it doesn’t take them long to realize that someone may have come this way already — someone who wants the past to stay buried.

Inspired by the rickety world of 1960s British-made Westerns, SKUNKS DANCE is a tale of revenge, greed, and men in tutus.

Genre(s): Literature & Fiction > Action & Adventure > Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Mystery
Kindle eBooks > Literature & Fiction > Humor & Satire > General Humor
Series: n.a.
Length: 231 pages
Release date: 2017-01-24

 

Teaser


Spivey Spillane – Teaser:

“Deputy, come on in. I was just readin’ Mr. Spillane here the crazy talk.”

“Hells bells! Where were you up to?”

“‘Crazy-ass,'” said the sheriff.

###

Jet and Amanda – Teaser:

“Oh dear,” said Mrs. Ashwood as she secured the brass attachments onto her bra. “Do you have any more Wolverines?”

The chef coughed wetly into his hands and pulled a candy Batman out of his pants.

“No more Wolverine, but we got too many of these Batmans. Can’t get rid of them for love or money.”


My Opinion

This book comprises two plot lines, told in alternating chapters. One plot line (the times of the gold rush) introduces you to Spivey Spillane, hunting Alabama Sam who is pulling pranks in his name. The other plot line (now) introduces you to Jet and Amanda. Like her ancestor, Spivey Spillane, Amanda wants to find the treasure.

With Somewhere in the Skunks Dance, St John Carp has created a humorous mystery that left me with mixed feelings. I cannot say, that I cared a lot for Spivey’s part of the story, it was too bizarre for my liking; despite that, this plot line had its moments. Jet, Amanda, and Gina’s plot line often was pretty hilarious, sometimes a little bizarre as well. The relevant characters in the present plot line are of sufficient depth, and Jet’s little sister Gina is a gem.

This is a book for you if you like bizarre suspense, two alternating plot lines; and if you like unusual stories.

In brief:

Cover ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Writing ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Plot Spivey Spillane: ⭐ ⭐ Jet and Amanda ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Characters Spivey Spillane: ⭐ ⭐ Jet and Amanda ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Mood Hopeful
Pace Fast
POV Third person – past tense
Language 😳
Violence 😳
Sexual content 😳

 

About the author

I am a writer, historian, and ornamental hermit. I enjoy living close to things so I can not go to them, and I spend my time pining for my old age when I can shout at kids to get off my lawn.

I love books that are bizarre and exciting and ridiculous. There’s something so liberating about a book that makes you want to run up to the nearest person and describe the amazing thoughts that have just been put in your head. I love the authors so much who’ve done that for me, and the most I can hope for is to do that for someone else.

If I could travel back in time to any point in history, it would be the 1920s. The first question I’d ask is for directions to the nearest speakeasy.

Connect with the author:

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you? What did you think about Skunks Dance? Or – if you did not yet read Skunks Dance – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂


10 Statements – St John Karp

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a reply :-)

