10 Statements – Lisa Manterfield


 

Lisa Manterfield is the award-winning author of A Strange Companion and I’m Taking My Eggs and Going Home: How One Woman Dared to Say No to Motherhood. Her work has appeared in The Saturday Evening Post, Los Angeles Times, and Psychology Today. Originally from northern England, she now lives in Southern California with her husband and over-indulged cat. Learn more at LisaManterfield.com.

 

 

Find me…

Website:  http://lisamanterfield.com/

Goodreads:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4475622.Lisa_Manterfield

Instagram:  @lmanterfield

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/AuthorLisaManterfield/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/lisamanterfield

Amazon:  Lisa Manterfield

 

My personal motto:

“Leap and the net will appear. If it doesn’t, flap your arms like crazy.”

 

10 statements
  1. A typical (work) day begins with… Coffee…before anything else. I try to exercise in the morning, too, but some days I just want to get to my writing. I actually like writing in bed. With my coffee, of course.
  2. I lose track of time when I’m in a scene with my characters and I really understand what they want and why it matters so much for them to get it. When that happens, it takes a while to readjust back to the real world.
  3. I have always… been curious. My mum says I never slept as a baby in case I missed something. I’m interested in lots of different things. I’m definitely a jack of all trades.
  4. I have never… had a speeding ticket. I hope I didn’t just jinx myself.
  5. Home means to me… wherever I lay my cat, that’s my home. I’ve always been “geographically flexible” and I’ve moved around a lot. As long as I can cozy up with my husband, cat, and a good book, I’m home.
  6. I am inspired by… nature. Being outdoors changes my whole demeanor and fires up my creativity. I especially love visiting my family in the UK and getting back out into the hills near where I grew up.
  7. I would like to meet… Sir David Attenborough. He has such a respect for the natural world and such a gentle, but inquisitive way of teaching. In another life, I might have followed in his footsteps.
  8. My worst character trait… time optimism. I’m a chronic over-scheduler. All these years and I still can’t seem to get a grasp on how long things take.
  9. My best character trait… tenacity. I am very determined about whatever I set my mind to. All sorts of talent deficits can be overcome by sticking with something for long enough.
  10. The best advice I was given… Don’t try to be someone you’re not. Just be yourself and forge your own path.

A Strange Companion

Kat Richardson isn’t running away from grief; she’s just hiding out in a gloomy Welsh university town until she’s sure it’s gone. Now, one year, nine months, and 27 days after the climbing death of her first love, Gabe, she thinks she’s ready to venture out into the relationship world again. And Owen—a cake-baking, Super Ball-making chemistry student—appears to be a kind, funny, and very attractive option.

But the arrival of Kat’s newly adopted niece, Mai, forces her home to northern England, where she runs head first into all the memories of Gabe she’s tried to leave behind—and discovers that Mai stirs up an unnerving feeling of déjà vu. Before long, Kat’s logical, scientific beliefs about life after death are in battle with what she feels to be true—that reincarnation is real and Gabe has come back to her through Mai. The question now, is why?

Taking on the topics of love, loss, and how we deal with grief, A Strange Companion is a twisted love triangle among the living, the dead, and the reincarnated.

Print length:  342 pages

Published:  2017-04-04

Buy linksbooks2read.com/u/mdKJ8Z

 

Save

7 thoughts on “10 Statements – Lisa Manterfield

  1. Pingback: A Strange Companion by Lisa Manterfield #BookReview @LisaManterfield – My train of thoughts on…

Leave a reply :-)

