3 Quotes – Jeffery Deaver


 

Jeffery Deaver, American writer
(mystery, crime, thriller)

born:
May 6, 1950 in Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

known for (among others):
The Lesson of Her Death, The Blue Nowhere, Lincoln Rhyme series

Website:  http://www.jefferydeaver.com/

 

I’ve often said that there’s no such thing as writer’s block; the problem is idea block.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
The best way to learn about writing is to study the work of other writers you admire.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
So I work hard to present the human side of my characters while not neglecting the plot.

 

Which is your favourite quote by Jeffery Deaver?  🙂

 

Save

23 thoughts on “3 Quotes – Jeffery Deaver

  1. Love all 3 today Karen, but number 1 is so true, it’s idea block, once I have the idea the writing takes on a life of its own. 🙂

  2. QUOTE 2: “The best way to learn about writing is to study the work of other writers you admire,” is my favorite. In fact, I learn something about writing from every book I read. 🙂

  3. I love quote number two and it seems so obviuos​ but I have heard a few writers worry they will ‘copy’ by mistake elements of their favourite writers and thus veer from reading them. A real pity!

    • Great choice, Annika. Sometimes we all seem to fear too much. It would be a real pity to stop reading the works of C.S. Boyack and Dean Kootz; I could never stop reading them; and I would not copy them. Tell writers to write a scene and you will get quite different stories.

  4. I love Jeffrey Deaver’s work, so I might be bias when I say all three quotes resonated with me. If I had to choose one, maybe number two. Really, though, all three are accurate.

Leave a reply :-)

