3 Quotes – John Edgar Wideman


 

John Edgar Wideman, American writer
(fiction, non-fiction, short stories)

born:
June 14, 1941 in Washington, D.C., USA

known for (among others):
A Glance Away, Reuben, Philadelphia Fire

Amazon:  John Edgar Wideman

 

When I wake up in the morning, I need the writing to go to. I begin there. And that’s not an accident, I mean, that habit of getting up in the morning and going to my writing first thing.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
My mother was a reader; my father was a reader. Not anything particularly sophisticated. My mother read fat historical or romantic novels; my father liked to read Westerns, Zane Grey, that kind of stuff. Whatever they brought in, I read.
+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++
I write what I want to write, and then, when it’s finished, I use my judgment to see whether or not I think it’s intrusive. If it is problematic, then I ask those involved. I won’t necessarily do what they say. But I do consult. I haven’t had too many problems. Nobody’s really gotten angry at me. Nobody, as far as I know, has felt betrayed.

 

Which is your favourite quote by John Edgar Wideman?  🙂

 

Save

10 thoughts on “3 Quotes – John Edgar Wideman

  1. I agree with the first quote. The second one could be about me… as a child I read all the books in the house, including the adult ones. Don’t think my parents had any idea, although there was nothing too ‘adult’ lying around. And as for the third, well I think all creative people should create what they want, whether they are artists, writers, actors, musicians… otherwise there would be nothing fresh and unique and original for us to enjoy. 😊

    • Excellent choice, Ali. The second one seems to be about more of us – no book was safe from me. Regarding the third one – you’re hitting the nail on the head! 🙂

  2. “When I wake up in the morning, I need the writing to go to. I begin there. And that’s not an accident, I mean, that habit of getting up in the morning and going to my writing first thing.” This struck me since writing is the only thing I do all day but begin in the morning.

Leave a reply :-)

