10 Statements – Burgess Needle


 

Burgess Needle was born in Boston and raised in Newton, Massachusetts. He attended the University of Massachusetts (B.A. English) and the University of Arizona (M. Ed.). When he worked for the American Can Corporation in Needham, Massachusetts he was a member in good standing of the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers Union and when he worked for the Tucson Unified School District he was a member of the Tucson Education Association. After working as a school librarian in Tucson for thirty years he moved to the town of Ripton, Vermont.

His poetry and fiction has appeared in Connotation Press, Blackbox Manifold (UK), Concho River Review, Raving Dove, Boston Literary Magazine, Centrifugal Eye, Iodine, Blue Lake Review, Nutshell (UK), Liquid Imagination and DeComp among others.  Publications include: EVERY CROW IN THE BLUE SKY: Diminuendo Press, 2009; THAI COMIC BOOKS: Big Table Press, 2013; FADED PHOTO BRINGS IT BACK: Kindle, 2014 and SIT and CRY: Two Years In the Land of Smiles, Wren Song Press, 2017. He taught English for two years in northeast Thailand for the Peace Corps and currently lives not too far from Middlebury, Vermont with a hazel-eyed woman of great wit, charm and beauty.

Find me…

http://www.everycrowinthebluesky.com/  – web site for my poetry collection EVERY CROW IN THE BLUE SKY

burgessneedle.com —  web site for my collection THAI COMIC BOOKS

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzFvPIjOLNM — YouTube video of Burgess Needle reciting his poem “Caravaggio.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7tfk6X6Nsk — YouTube video of Burgess Needle reading his poem “Welcome.”

https://www.amazon.com/Sit-Cry-Years-Land-Smiles/dp/0975370693/ — Amazon web site for my book TO SIT AND CRY


My personal motto:

A writer not willing to tilt reality in his direction is like a fireman not willing to break a few windows.”

10 statements
  1. A typical (work) day begins with… greeting and smiling and hugging my amazing partner, do a brief work out, guided meditation, outside walk, feed and care for dogs and cats, check day’s list of things to do…somewhere in that day will be at least an hour or two set aside for thinking and writing.
  2. I lose track of time when I’m working on a poem or when I am in the midst of a guided meditation.
  3. I have always…wanted to be a storyteller.
  4. I have never… been interested in professional sports.
  5. Home means to me… (a) a memory of growing up in Newton, (b) my little adobe house in Tucson and, (c) where I am now in Ripton with the warmth and love of a wonderful family and trusting pets.
  6. I am inspired by… the exceptional people with whom I share a house, great poetry, 19th Century Russian symphonies, the Romanian Rhapsody, every phase of the moon, changing seasons, the eyes of animals, home-made pie and salad from the garden in my back yard.
  7. I would like to meet… the Dalai Lama, Carolyn Forché and Barack Obama.
  8. My worst character trait… is free-floating anxiety and fear that things are not really the way they seem and the belief that nothing I mail will ever be delivered.
  9. My best character trait… is finding poetry in the world around me.
  10. The best advice I was given… was to stop being so hard on myself.

 

Sit and Cry: Two Years in the Land of Smiles

Burgess Needle’s day-by-day account of his life as a Peace Corps volunteer in Thailand in the late 1960s offers the reader insights into rural Thai life and culture, the impact of the Vietnam War, the angst of living in a completely strange environment, the struggles of trying to communicate in an alien language, loneliness and the desire for love or at least physical contact. Whether or not one lived through the turbulent Sixties, this volume offers a singularly unique perspective on that era.

Genre:  Books > Travel > Asia > Southeast

Print length:  326 pages

Published:  2017-04-28

Buy link:  https://www.amazon.com/Sit-Cry-Years-Land-Smiles/dp/0975370693/


 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “10 Statements – Burgess Needle

Leave a reply :-)

