10 Statements – Annika Perry


Although writing has always been a lifetime passion for Annika, her route to full-time writing has been circuitous and she formerly worked within journalism and the timber trade before severe illness and motherhood gave her an opportunity to pursue her dream.

Annika’s First Prize win in the ‘Writing Magazine’ short story competition was the much needed impetus and confidence booster for her to complete the first novel, ‘Island Girl’, which is currently in the final editing stages. Annika is also working on the last edits of her first short story collection which she hopes to self-publish very soon.

As well as writing, Annika is an avid reader (a world without books is unimaginable for her), a keen gardener, walker and she enjoys travel (in spite of her well-documented fear of flying!)

For the past two years blogging has become an important part of her life and she deeply values the friendships formed here on WP via the warm encouraging and uplifting comments. She lives in the South East of England with her husband and teenage son.

Find me…

Website:  https://annikaperry.com/
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/AnnikaPerry68
 

My personal motto:

The following quotes from ‘Illusions’ by Richard Bach have often have often been the keystone in Annika’s life, giving her strength in face of adversity and courage when faced with new challenges.

“The simplest questions are the most profound. Where were you born? Where is your home? Where are you going? What are you doing? Think about these once in a while, and watch your answers change.”

“Argue for your limitations and sure enough, they’re yours.”

“You are never given a wish without also being given the power to make it true. You may have to work for it, however.”

 

10 statements
  1. A typical (work) day begins with…  a delicious bowl of cereal, granola, berries and fruit yoghurt in the sunlit living room!
  2. I lose track of time when reading, writing, blogging.
  3. I have always… been true to myself, often at a personal price.
  4. I have never… smoked.
  5. Home means to me… being with my family in a cosy safe environment where I can totally relax and unwind.
  6. I am inspired by… my mother whose strong, positive and loving spirit never wavers and whose trust and belief in life seems unconquerable.
  7. I would like to meet… my Mormor (maternal grandmother) again. I often imagine sitting down to chat with her, give her hugs and most of all introduce her to my son, let her listen to him playing the piano – they are so alike in many ways and I know she would love him so.
  8. My worst character trait… is being a bit of a perfectionist! I can come across as rather impatient at times.
  9. My best character trait… is my loyalty and faithfulness to friends and family and ability to listen and empathise with others.
  10. The best advice I was given… “Believe in yourself, you’re strong.”

 

Extract from ‘The Whiteout Years’ by Annika Perry…one of the short stories featured in her soon-to-be published collection:

Out of the blackness Carl spotted the sign for the village. Two kilometres. His fifth year here and the road felt as familiar as the one he drove every day to work. How could that be? How could he feel so at home in a place he’d visited so infrequently?

He started to in shock, eyes blinded by a kaleidoscopic sheet of colour. Blinking, he saw more rainfalls of brilliant reds, whites, purples high in the sky. Another rocket swerved to the right, evaporating high up in the dark. Firework upon firework followed. Carl was late, the plane had been delayed and it must already be midnight. The start of a new year. As he drew closer to the village Carl saw that it had excelled itself. Now he could hear the distant
thunder of the rockets, the odd whoops of delight from the crowd.

Three years since his last moments with Karin. Three years since days, weeks, months, years ceased to matter. Her parent’s had survived their loss; he never knew how. At their insistence Carl came every year to visit them. Whilst he held himself responsible for the accident, they had taken it upon themselves to save him. A lost cause, he told them repeatedly. He’d tried to escape their care and concern – to no avail. So, here he was again. Late.

Suddenly a wall of brown appeared in his lights. Large eyes gleamed in the headlights and instinctively Carl slammed on the brakes. The car spun to the side and with a smash it stopped; then suddenly it lifted and twisted up into the air before landing on its roof with a cushioned thud. Outside Carl heard the sound of an injured animal, the pained barking of an elk. As the car spun slowly, Carl saw the huge animal steady itself, before sheepishly trekking into the trees.

He heard her breaths next to him, the harsh rasping and puffs of warm air upon his cheek. Tiny wisps of vapour floated in front of his face, warmth meeting cold. Carl started to shake, then thought of Karin and reached out to her, to protect her. The seat was empty. It was all wrong. Where was she? Wasn’t she driving? Why was he in the driver’s seat? She must have escaped? Gone to get help? He heard her voice in the distance, “Keep safe! Live.”

“Karin!” Carl shouted her name until his voice was hoarse, quaking with the cold. His hand, blue and black, fought to release the seat-belt buckle. Karin, he had to find her.

She was driving, laughing, singing away as they took an unknown short cut to her parents. He should have said no. He should have told her to slow down. Be sensible. No, he had told her, she’d shouted back. “Sensible is not living, this is!” and with that she’d turned the wheel first one way and then the other, skidding round and round. He’d been furious, his temper frayed with fear. Seeing this, Karin had thrown herself around his neck, nestled her face into his neck, kissing him, comforting, all the time muttering, “Sorry, sorry.”

After a while the car chilled and conscious of the time and the fireworks display, they set off. “Please, Carl, sensible is okay but remember to live, to live wildly, madly. Promise me.”

“Wildly, madly,” the words echoed in his mind, around him. “Please live…” the silent voice begged of him.

 

82 thoughts on “10 Statements – Annika Perry

    • Mary Ann, thank you so much for your lovely comment – I’m not surprised you identify yourself with some of these statements. Your life seems to have been lived according to those words and done so much, travelled so far! Wow! I’m so touched and humbled that you say I’m an inspiration…words are lost to me. Warmest thanks…❤️😀

  1. Wonderful post to read Annika. It often pays to write as you feel rather than spend to much time on it. The short story is fascinating and I had to read it several times. When is your short story book coming out?

    • Mike, I wished I’d realised that before I’d spent a few hours writing out various responses! 😀 Wow! I’m honoured you read the story extract several times – many thanks and very uplifting to know! As for my short story book – I will be posting on my blog so keep a lookout for more details! 😀

  2. Wonderful intro to Annika and her ten statement. I’m particularly fond of #3. Staying true to yourself despite the cost is a sign of character, and I believe it pays off in the long run. Great excerpt which I believe I’ve read before…(?). I’m so excited for the long-awaited books!!!

    • Diana, it’s been a delight to be part of Karen’s 10 statements – I had no idea what I was letting myself in for! 😀

      I have a feeling you can identify very well with #3, Diana…when you’re younger it feels tough at times and you really can’t picture the final destination…it has worked out well though! 😀 Oh yes, you’ve read the story on my blog and quite a few of my stories have featured there. It was all the encouraging comments about the stories and suggestions I should collate my short stories that gave me the impetus to put them together, edit etc. Many in the collection you will recognise, though there will be a few new ones as well!😀

      Diana, I really appreciate your excitement over my books…I feel as if I should go and hide away until they’re ready and then come back! Life has come in the way but the short story one is well on the road and the main novel will get there…just much slower than I’d intended. 😀

  3. Goosebumps, Annika. Your story brought me goosebumps and teary eyes. I sure hope Carl finds some peace. Your writing is vivid, intense, and active. So enjoyed reading your 10 statements, also. Kudos to Karen for bringing you here to us on her blog. xo

    • Kudos indeed to Karen, Pam and it’s been a real honour to be featured! 😀

      Wow!! Goosebumps!! Pam, I’m so buoyed by your enthusiastic comment about my short story snippet – thank you so for your wonderful comment about my writing. ❤️ As for Carl, you know me…there has to be resolution and peace for him…all in the full story!

  4. Oh, how wonderful! Loved reading that awesome short-story, Annika, and all your lovely statements! It´s great to get to know you better and see how much we have in common. 🙂
    The quotations by Richard Bach are really a wonderful incentive to push oneself in the right direction, I think I will borrow them too 😀

    • Sarah, Richard Bach is wonderful for inspirational thoughtful quotes – they’ve got me through some tough times and definitely provide guidance on how to think about your way forward! 😀I’m so glad you enjoyed the statements (and lovely to know we have a lot in common) and loved the short story excerpt – yeah!! I’m smiling away at that and always a boost to hear. ❤️

      • That´s right, he really is a wonderful source for quotes and I love his books and short-stories – such a genius with words! I think it´s time for me again, to go quote hunting a bit 😉
        Have a lovely week ahead! 🙂 ❤

  5. Hello, Karen! This is my first visit to your blog – nice to meet you. 😊
    Annika, I enjoyed your answers, and you left me intrigued with your short story (I need to read the rest)! That is an area of writing I do hope to attempt one day down the road. 😊

  6. Annika, I was surprised at how I related to your answers. In those 10 ways, you and I are very much alike. Thank you for sharing more of yourself here, and thank you Karen.

  7. Thanks for the personal insights, Annika. One of the beauties of blogging is the friends we make along the way. And your short story was both poignant and powerful. –Curt

    • Curt, I wholeheartedly agree that the friendships formed here on WP is the best element of blogging – I really hadn’t expected that and it’s been a delight meeting and connecting with such a variety of people across the globe. I almost feel my life is split into two – the real live people one and the long distance internet one. Thank you so much for your terrific comment about my short story excerpt! That’s a real boost! 😀😀

      • I wasn’t expecting the friendship part of it either, Annika. I was merely following the rules that you should comment and respond to comments. 🙂 And you are welcome. –Curt

    • Ahh..that’s a lovely comment…all we need now is a rest in a cafe for a cup of tea! 😀 I’m hoping to post next week, if my silly WiFi is working (struggling for the moment on 3G) – I am away for a couple of weeks after that although will be popping in and out of WP!

    • Julie, thank you so much for your wonderful enthusiastic comment -I’m so happy you liked the 10 Statements and the fiction excerpt! That’s brilliant and always a boost to know. 😀❤️

  8. Oh Annika, what delightful insights into you. I have no doubt we’d be friends if we didn’t live half a world away! One of my most admired traits is “I have always… been true to myself, often at a personal price.” A quick story: My husband was a GM for a plant with employees who lived paycheck-to-paycheck. When the payroll didn’t arrive one Friday, he paid everyone out of petty cash. For that he was terminated. I was never so proud of him.

    • Jacqi, wow! What a lovely story about your husband and I totally understand why you were so proud of him – what a wonderful honourable guy! Bless him. Unbelievable that he lost his job… We would definitely be firm friends if we lived close, that I can feel, Jacqui – popping in and out of each other’s houses, prattling on! Oh well, no way to get around the half a world away dilemma so very good blogging friends it is! ❤️😀

  9. Wow! What a chilling story Annika! I would be looking forward to reading your short story collection. 🙂
    It was really nice to read the list of 10 about you.
    Other than that I also loved the quotes, by Richard Bach, that you’ve shared. They are truly inspiring. 🙂

    • Norma, yeah! 😀😀 So happy you enjoyed all the elements to the post!! Richard Bach is a personal favourite and the whole book is wonderfully inspiring and thought-provoking (as are his other books). I was aiming for chilling(in both meanings of the word!) in this short story and glad this came across in this snippet! Thank you for looking forward to reading the collection – that’s so heartening to know…hopefully won’t be too long! 😀

  10. Nice to meet you both, Karen and Annika! Congrats on being featured here and answering the 10 questions. I enjoyed reading your short story!
    😀

    • Thank you, Marje – it’s been a delight to be here and to write the 10 statements…it does focus ones thoughts! 😀 I’m so glad you enjoyed the short story extract and really appreciate your well wishes. I am in awe more than ever of writers who have published books – you included! Hope it’s going well. Warmest wishes.xx

      • Hi Annika. I’m starting to think about the paperback and beginning to edit book two. But time is an issue! I have just started a full time job and finding it difficult managing my time!

    • Isn’t it just?! I’ve always enjoyed reading these 10 statements for that very reason – a terrific way to learn about someone and mange to get a real sense of the person, their thoughts and character as well as showcasing some work! Ahh..so glad you enjoy my writing – that means a lot to me! 😀😂

  11. Wow, so awesome to see Annika here! I enjoy learning more about my blogging friends. And I loved the story Annika shared here. Definitely now awaiting this book! 🙂 xx

    • I’ve always needed a deadline and pressure and knowing such lovely people as yourself are keen to read the book is a great incentive to continue and finish this!! 😀😀 Debby, I’m so glad you enjoyed the story extract and 10 statements…not as easy as you’d imagine!

      • I know. I was invited almost 2 years ago to Karen’s 10 Statements. Your visit inspired me to pull mine out of the archives. A possible reblog again from the archives! 🙂

  12. Congratulations on your feature in ’10 Statements’ and for your exceptional answers. I remember your short story, The Whiteout Years. If your other short stories are as good as this one then your book is sure to be a success.

    • Jeff, warmest thanks for that resounding endorsement and encouragement…I really hope others feel that the stories are equally thrilling, tense, moving…Wow! That means a lot that you recall the story…thank you. Thank you also for your terrific comment – I’m so glad you liked the answers to the statements! 😀😀

    • Lana, bless you for your wonderfully kind words – I’m grinning away. 😀😀 Lana, you’re likewise a gifted writer who always has something original and unique to say…it’s been great to meet up here on WP and support each other. So glad you enjoyed the story (little dance!) and the interview. 😀❤️

  13. Dear Annika, your ten statements are lovely…5 and 9 are my favorite and 10 speaks to me personally. It was a great pleasure to know more about you…many of the traits you mention shimmer in your words, which hold your signature.
    Thank for sharing a captivating story…I am looking forward to reading more of your stories. Your poetic prose is an eclectic delight. Stay blessed!
    Thanks for introducing me to Karen, loved her blog.

    • Dearest Balroop, thank you so very much for the warmest, kindest of comments! 😀😀 I am deeply honoured by your words and am very thoughtful that my words ‘hold my signature’. Wow! 😀I’m so happy you’ve got a chance to ‘meet’ Karen and visit her blog – I’ve been a follower since my early days and enjoy all her various posts – you’re in for a treat. Thanks again for your inspiring words, hugs xx

    • Georgina, I’m so pleased the short story evoked such emotions…that is exactly what I was trying to achieve…Karin definitely had that wild side to her and a great contrast to Carl. Thank you for the wishes, I’m so impressed with everyone who has published books…there is so much to think about and organise but it is all very exciting! 😀😀 So glad you’re keen to read more…yippee! 😀❤️

    • Thank you for your lovely comment and for sharing, Bette! 😀❤️ Yeah…so happy to know you’re looking forward to the collection…I’m smiling! 😀😀

  14. How great to see you here, Annika! I loved learning more about you. I’m sometimes guilty of being a perfectionist as well. 🙂 Your best advice is spot on. It sounds similar to advice my mother gave me when I was young. I loved your story!

    • Hello fellow-perfectionist! 😀😀 It’s a bit of a curse and blessing. That best advice really has carried me through many of life’s traumas and one I’ve passed onto my son…yep, these are my mother’s words and she still reminds me of them now and then! 😀😀 Yeah, Jill I’m so glad you enjoyed the story excerpt -it reinforces my confidence to continue to publish them. Hope your Sunday is special, Hugs ❤️

    • Thank you so much, Robbie…it means a lot to know you like the short story extract and so glad you enjoyed reading the 10 Statements – I really didn’t know it would be so tricky! 😀

  15. Wonderful Annika, all of it.😊 . Let me first say that I love the Blue Feather and the wonderful quote by Wordsworth. One we should all keep in our hearts.
    To your mottos, wow..these Richard Bach quotes are among my favourites too. Love that guy.:)

    So to you and your beautiful statements who re-inforce the feeling that you are a vivid, strong and very creative woman. Your loving side comes out in so many answers. In your closeness to your family of all generations and in your charachters as you write.

    To always have been true to yourself is a wonderful and courageous thing as too often it is compromised for fear of not belonging. Kudos to you Annika.

    Your excerpt from Whiteout Years is great and I really hope this story will feature in your short story book now soon to be starting the road to publishing.

    “Believe in yourself, you are strong” is a statement we should learn. Beautiful.
    miriam

    • Wow! Thank you so much for your mangum opus of a comment! 😀😀 I’m touched deeply about your kind, loving words regarding me…tears of joy. ❤️ Yes, my family are very important to me and I feel my roots deeply…going back generations, now and into the future through my son and nieces & nephews! It’s not always easy being true to yourself and it caused some problems at school now and then but in the end I am lucky to have great friends and we know each other very well.

      Yeah! I’m so glad you enjoyed the extract, reading your postive feedback is brilliant and strengthens my resolve to publish asap – and yes, the story is most definitely in the collection. I think this one might even be my favourite one…Hope you’re having a very special Sunday. Xx

  16. Well, Annika, I thought I knew you pretty well from reading your blog, and your 10 Statements confirm what I’ve suspected. You are a hard working, loving, compassionate person. Still, I thoroughly enjoyed reading your 10.

    The short story touched me. We regret so many of the decisions we make, yet here is the love of Carl’s life, dead three years, still reminding him to live fully and be joyous. Very uplifting.

    • Shari…heartfelt thanks for your most touching comment…it’s not often I’m smiling with tears in my eyes. Your words about me are so moving, warm and kind and mean a lot to me. Hugs winging their way to you!

      Also, yeah, I’m over the moon that you enjoyed the story extract so much and that the characters of Carl and Karin were so striking and touched you deeply…your comment gives me a boost to continue with the book.

  17. Pingback: 10 Statements – Annika Perry – Annika Perry's Writing Blog

    • Ahh…thank you so much, Shey! 😀 That is sure true…all from the heart and I wondered if they were too personal and should be ‘fancier’…but that would be going against statement 3!! 😀😀 hugs xx

  18. Karen, warmest thanks for the opportunity to feature on your blog – it’s a real honour! 😀😀 As a huge fan of this series I love reading about the writers you showcase but never imagined I would be one of them – many thanks again! Also, I just want to mention the excellent layout of these, visually appealing and easy to read. Wishing you a lovely rest of the weekend! 😀❤️

    • Annika, it was a real pleasure.
      Thanks for your kind feedback on my blog and especially regarding the 10 Statements layout. 😊
      Wishing you a lovely Sunday. ☘🍀☀

Leave a reply :-)

