10 Statements – Cynthia Adina Kirkwood


Photo: Cynthia Adina Kirkwood, author

Former San Francisco journalist, Cynthia Adina Kirkwood, is the author of Turn On, Tune Out, a cautionary computer tale.

Born and raised in New York City, her parents emigrated there from Belize, Central America. Like her parents, she is now an immigrant.

She received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Religion from Williams College. For her Junior Year Abroad, she studied at the American University in Cairo. Later, she received a Master of Arts degree from the Johns Hopkins School for Advanced International Studies in Washington, D.C. in International Economics, African Studies, and Comparative Politics. At the University of California at Berkeley, she earned a Certificate of Journalism Education from the Summer Program for Minority Journalists.

She worked as a reporter at newspapers in the east, west and south of the United States. In 1994, she left the San Francisco Chronicle, where she edited mayhem and wrote headlines, for Sicily and has been living in Europe since then.

In 2012, she and her son left a sedentary life in Cornwall, England, for a farming one in the heart of Portugal. She has 4 acres of terraced land with 44 olive trees, 250 grapevines, and countless fruit trees.

 

Find me…

www.cynthiaadinakirkwood.com.

Facebook

Goodreads

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

 

My personal motto:

“Ain’t nothing to it but to do it.”

 

10 statements
  1. A typical (work) day begins with… calmly. After my son leaves for school, I have a cup of tea and hot buttered toast while listening to classical music, jazz or something else on an eclectic radio station here in Portugal and unscrambling a few “Jumble word puzzles” in a book. I feel so accomplished after breakfast!
  2. I lose track of time when my writing is going well.
  3. I have always… enjoyed meeting people from different walks in life.
  4. I have never… traveled to Asia. I hope to change that.
  5. Home means to me… an elusive place I try to define in my writing and my life.
  6. I am inspired by… Tina Turner. I admire her high energy and personal transformation.
  7. I would like to meet… Leo Tolstoy because his work is so satisfying and he sought to live truthfully.
  8. My worst character trait… was my lack of competitive drive. But it’s not a bad thing because there are other ways to succeed at writing. Cooperation with other writers and readers is more natural for me, and it is working well.
  9. My best character trait… is my compassion.
  10. The best advice I was given… was to keep writing. It was in a publisher’s rejection letter.

Photo: Author Cynthia Adina Kirkwood on a mountain


Book cover: Turn On, Tune Out

 

Turn On, Tune Out

A British composer turns outlaw in Los Angeles in Turn On, Tune Out. Angelica Morgan flouts a computer law that cripples creativity. In L.A., Angelica finds an audience, love, and a passion to stop the insidious law from taking hold in Britain. In the near future of California, artists, who steal time off-line, are considered suspect, criminal, and dangerous.

Angelica’s friend, Rosetta, an outspoken painter, cautions the musician about the Stop, Look and Listen law. But Angelica dismisses the warning. . .

 

Called “sophisticated,” “intriguing,” and “passionate,” “you’ll keep thinking about it long after the last page.”

Print length:  163 pages

Published:  2017-05-24

Buy links:

Amazon

Amazon.co.uk

 

6 thoughts on “10 Statements – Cynthia Adina Kirkwood

Leave a reply :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.