The Gift: Awakening (The Gift Legacy, #1) by J.P. McLean


The_Gift_Legacy_01

The author sent me an ARC of this book (epub format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  4.6  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Goodreads)

Every Gift has its Price . . .
When Emelynn Taylor accepts a mysterious gift from a stranger, her life alters irrevocably. Haunted by terrifying abilities she can’t control, Emelynn returns to her abandoned home on the British Columbia coast where she vows to take command of her unruly gift. A near-fatal miscalculation drops her into the hands of a man who steals her breath away and an underground society who share the gift; but as they steer her into unknown territory, secrets surface and conspiracies unfold. Will Emelynn master her dangerous gift and escape the growing web of perils before they take her life?

 

Genre:  Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery

Series:  The Gift Legacy, #1

Length:  365 pages

Release date:  2015-11-27  (2nd edition)

 

Teaser


The night came alive. There were no shadows for fear to lurk in; no dark corners for monsters to hide in; and no night for scary things to go bump in. Now I knew why Jolene had warned me that people wouldn’t understand. I didn’t understand. A whole new world opened up to me and it was absolutely unbelievable.


My Opinion

This book introduces you to Emelynn Taylor – waking in hospital after a self-test gone wrong.

With The Gift: Awakening, J. P. McLean has created a thrilling combination of mystery, paranormal, urban fantasy and a touch of romance. It is a compelling read, drawing you in as you learn more about Emelynn (‘Em’) and her gift. J. P. McLean paints a clear picture of Em’s mind while the story evolves. I was drawn close to Em and her story – an invisible friend and ally. The characters are of sufficient depth, believable with their flaws and virtues. The story is a very nicely woven combination of several genres; it was easy to get hooked.

This is a book for you if you like mysteries or paranormal romance with a very urban touch and believable characters.

The promising first book in The Gift Legacy series!

Recommended!

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Many twists
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Steady
Characters Developed, complex
Violence No violence (some hints)
Sexual content (Some) Explicit sexual content
POV First person

 

About the author

Raised in the greater Toronto area in Ontario, J.P. McLean lived in various parts of North America from Mexico and Arizona to Alberta and Ontario before settling on the coast of British Columbia.  Ms. McLean holds a Bachelor of Commerce Degree from the University of British Columbia.  She left a successful career in Human Resources before turning her attention to writing.

Ms. McLean is an accomplished cook and gardener who reads voraciously.  She currently lives with her husband and two wheaten terriers on one of the northern Gulf Islands off the eastern shore of Vancouver Island.

 

Connect with the Author:

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Gift: Awakening?  Or – if you did not yet read The Gift: Awakening – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If The Gift: Awakening was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂

 

11 thoughts on “The Gift: Awakening (The Gift Legacy, #1) by J.P. McLean

  1. Pingback: The Gift: Betrayal (The Gift Legacy, Awakening Redux (“#20”)) by J.P. McLean – My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: The Gift: Penance (The Gift Legacy, #4) by J.P. McLean – My train of thoughts on…

  3. Pingback: The Gift: Redemption (The Gift Legacy, #3) by J.P. McLean – My train of thoughts on…

  4. Pingback: The Gift: Revelation (The Gift Legacy, #2) by J.P. McLean – My train of thoughts on…

  5. Pingback: The Gift: Awakening (The Gift Legacy, #1) by J.P. McLean | The Gift Legacy

  6. Glad you liked it, Karen, and thanks for the review. It was a lot of fun to write. I was thinking of Ian Somerhalder for Jackson. Ashley Greene for Emelynn?

    • I liked The Gift: Awakening a lot, Jo-Anne. Thank you so much for letting me read and review. 🙂
      Ian Somerhalder is a great choice. Ashley Greene seems to be a good choice as well (I had to search for some pictures, though).

      • When I was writing it, every time I’d see a face in a magazine that matched the one in my head, I’d clip it out. Most of them are models, so I have no idea who they are, but it sure helped me when I was writing.

      • It certainly helps if you see your characters clearly, they get more depth, this way. Obviously best practice, Jo-Anne. 🙂

  7. This intrigues me and would love to read it but my attention is so short. It struck me that Kirsten Stewart could be the heroine but I would have to read the whole book. Happy New Year, Karen.

    • It is an intriguing story, Kerry. I am pretty sure that you’d love it as a movie.
      Kristen Stewart would be a great choice; she and Chloe Grace Moretz were on my mind…
      Happy New Year, Kerry!

Leave a reply :-)

