Panama by C. S. Boyack


Panama

 

My rating:  4  of  5  stars

Plot
(by Amazon)

Ethan and Coop are sent to the construction zone along the Panama Canal. They have some experience with strange phenomenon, but nothing prepared them for this.

They are faced with civil war, Carlist pretenders to the thrones of France and Spain, an invading Spanish army, and another from Hell itself. They’ll be lucky to survive, let alone take care of anything while they’re down there.

This story is based upon the construction of the canal, Panamanian independence, international cooperation, and a few celebrity cameos. Even the magic takes on an international flavor.

Ghosts and Voodoo are one thing, but they have no idea what waits along the isthmus.

 

Genre(s):  Paranormal, Adventure

Series:  n.a.

Length:  310 pages

Release date:  2014-05-08

 

Teaser


“Men are dying by the thousands on the Isthmus. We fight malaria and yellow fever constantly. Some of them just disappear in the middle of the night. I’ve got the Medical Corp disguising the missing as yellow fever victims. The numbers get reported, but we don’t want this getting out.”

“Him.” Ethan pointed to a folder without reading the rest. “Cooper Hexum. We became friends in Florida and Cuba, sir.”

“The Buffalo Soldier? He was next on my list,” Roosevelt said.


 

My Opinion

This story introduces you to to President Roosevelt, sending Ethan and Coop on a dangerous mission. I cannot tell you more about the story as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With Panama, C. S. Boyack presents us the intriguing story of two men and their few allies having to make sure that the construction of the Panama canal can proceed as planned. This story is cleverly elaborated, has a great flow, carrying the reader through all events. C. S. Boyack skilfully introduces his characters, describing them in enough detail, you can imagine them clearly. Ernest Hemingway once stated “When writing a novel a writer should create living people; people not characters. A character is a caricature.” C. S. Boyack shows this masterly with this story – he created living people instead of mere characters. I was drawn into the story right away – very close to Ethan and Coop. I could easily envision the characters and locations. I had a great time reading Panama. It is a very enjoyable read. This is for you if you like the paranormal, adventures with a humorous streak, likeable characters to cheer on and a little trip into the past.

This is a book to read again. Recommended.

In brief:

Writing Great
Plot Some twists
Mood Suspenseful
Pace Fast
Characters Developed
Violence Some violence
Sexual content No sexual content (a few hints)
POV Third person

 

About the author

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

Craig

Connect with the Author:

Website:  https://coldhandboyack.wordpress.com/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/Virgilante

Amazon:  C. S. Boyack

Buy Link:

Amazon.com

 


 

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about Panama?  Or – if you did not yet read Panama – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

My question for you cinephiles:
If Panama was filmed – who should direct it, who could you imagine as actors?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂


10 Statements – C. S. Boyack

Review:  Wild Concept

Review:  Arson

Review:  Will O’ the Wisp

 

16 thoughts on “Panama by C. S. Boyack

  1. Pingback: The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack II by C.S. Boyack – My train of thoughts on…

  2. Pingback: The Playground by C. S. Boyack – My train of thoughts on…

  3. Pingback: The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  4. Pingback: The Cock of the South by C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  5. Pingback: Cover Reveal: The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack | My train of thoughts on...

  6. Pingback: Writer’s Quote Wednesday – Easy Reading | The Writer Next Door

Leave a reply :-)

