The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack II by C.S. Boyack


tenofcsboyack_ii

 

The author sent me an ARC of this book (mobi format) in exchange for an honest review.

My rating:  ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Plot
(by Goodreads)

A second collection of short stories and micro-fiction. Every story can be read in a single session. This time there are a few tributes to the pulp era. Stories include science fiction, paranormal, and horror.

The stories: Fever, Documentary, Inheritance, Magpies, Questing, Career Move, Just Another Saturday Night, Last Flight of the Rocketmen, Night Bump Radio, Things We Do For Love, The Parade Wave, Jason Fogg, Angel, Holo-Barkers, Practical Geology
[the different colours are meant to simplify reading the titles]

Genre(s): Science Fiction & Fantasy > Fantasy > Superhero
Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > Anthologies & Short Stories
Series: The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack, #II
Length: 141 pages
Release date: 2016-08-31

 

Teaser


“When you opened the detective agency you were so happy. You saved my life, and Detective Marsh fed you business. What’s the deal? You haven’t been to your office in two weeks.”

“It’s my special abilities. They ought to be worth something to us, but they’re not all they’re cracked up to be either. A man has to sell his skills, and I can do something nobody else can do.”


My Opinion

This anthology comprises fifteen different stories, taking you on fifteen very different trips; some will make you happy, some will make you sad, others will make you wonder. There is one thing that they all have in common: They are unforgettable. I cannot tell you more about this anthology as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack II, C. S. Boyack presents us with fifteen little gifts. Each story is skilfully elaborated, has its own great flow. Ernest Hemingway once stated “When writing a novel a writer should create living people; people not characters. A character is a caricature.” C. S. Boyack shows this masterly with every story – he created living people instead of mere characters. I was drawn into the stories right away, close to the protagonists – sometimes too close for comfort. I could easily envision the characters and locations. I had a great time reading The Experimental Notebook of C. S. Boyack II. It is a very enjoyable read.

This is for you if you like short stories, adventures with a humorous streak, paranormal events, horror stories, a remarkable science fiction story, very likeable characters to cheer on, surprises and food for thought – all packed in micro-fiction and short stories.

This is a book to read again. Highly recommended!

In brief:

Cover ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Writing ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Plot ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Characters ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Mood Suspenseful, dark, fun, thoughtful
Pace Steady
POV Alternating persons
Language :mrgreen: – 😳
Violence 😳 – 😡
Sexual content 😳

 

About the author

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

Craig

Connect with the author:

Please take a look at my statement on reading in My train of thoughts on …reading.  Now I am asking you.  🙂

My questions for you bibliophiles:
What about you?  What did you think about The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack II?  Or – if you did not yet read The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack II – are you now interested in reading it yourself?

I am looking forward to reading your comments.  🙂


10 Statements – C. S. Boyack

Review:  Wild Concept

Review:  Arson

Review:  Will O’ the Wisp

Review:  Panama

Review:  The Cock of the South

Review:  The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack

3 Quotes – C.S. Boyack

Review:  The Playground

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

29 thoughts on “The Experimental Notebook of C.S. Boyack II by C.S. Boyack

  1. Pingback: Wassup Blogland? | Entertaining Stories

  2. This is definitely up my street, and this review has just confirmed I need to read this. It’s been on my kindle for a while and might need bumping up the list. Thanks both of you!

Leave a reply :-)

